I was born in 1985, so my understanding of the impact Margaret Thatcher had on the lives of the working class during her tenure is minimal. I wasn’t there. Sure, I can read countless articles and books but I could never claim to have first-hand experience of it. I could never feel what it meant to working-class and under siege for 11 years. What I do know is that she began the process of dismantling the state, privatising as much as could be gotten away with at the time. Her politics were an assault on the poor, and her handling of Hillsborough leaves the city of Liverpool and a great deal of others believing there was a cover-up that reached the very top.

I see on Twitter and various comments sections of national newspapers that there are a great number of people who are happy to see her dead. I am not a Thatcher apologist, I hate everything her particular brand of politics stood for (and still stands for), yet I cannot bring myself to say that I am happy at her death. There are a number of reasons for this, firstly I never knew her personally so I cannot say beyond any doubt that she really was a bad person. Secondly, during my lifetime I’ve witnessed such celebrations as those in Pakistan at the time of 9/11 and those in the US at the death of Osama bin Laden. I’ve witnessed level-headed Britons air their disgust at these celebrations, so it would be hypocritical of me to celebrate this. Finally, I said at the time of Hugo Chavez’ death that an idea is more powerful than a person and far outlives them.

This is certainly the case with Baroness Thatcher. Politically speaking, her death is an irrelevance. Her ideals live on through this current incarnation of the Conservatives and in all honesty, she passed on the baton a long time ago to John Major. Tony Blair then stole it and lovingly returned it to our incumbent PM. David Cameron and his band of trust-fund spongers are no less evil than her politics ever were. The difference is that Thatcher had the balls to be perfectly upfront about it, whereas Cameron is a snivelling little PR megalomaniac. Beneath the squeaky-clean veneer lies a cold, calculating tyrant who has somehow manipulated himself a positive PR image.

The national media will now enter a period of self-declared mourning, remembering her for her iron will and steely determination. The Real Conservatives will come out in force, declaring their affection for her in idolatrous missives via every form of media possible and The Secret Conservatives (Labour) will largely jump aboard this little bandwagon in a bizarre ploy to win a few polling points. We must not lose sight of the fact that her politics were despicable, that the current government are treading where she daren’t. They are selling off our NHS, they are savagely attacking the less fortunate punishing them for the sins of the most fortunate. We live in unjust times, ruled by an unjust government, informed by an unjust media, with a spineless opposition in a world that favours the rich and seeks to exploit the poor.

This is what Baroness Thatcher stood for. Don’t celebrate her life, but don’t celebrate her death either. It achieves nothing, instead save your energy for opposing this current government because we’ll need every ounce we can get. They are our greatest threat, whether rich or poor austerity will cripple this country and it will hurt you.